Prince of Players
Composer: Carlisle Floyd
Composer Bio: Composer, librettist, pianist, and teacher Carlisle Floyd has written operas for many of America’s cherished stories, basing much of his subject matter on Southern themes. Born in the Southern Bible Belt of Latta, South Carolina, he grew up in the thick of traveling preachers, revival meetings, and a close knit religious community, though at a young age was aware of that world’s controversial and hypocritical nature. Floyd’s primary teacher was pianist Ernst Bacon whom he followed from South Carolina to Syracuse University in New York where he earned a Bachelor and a Master of Music. He immediately joined the piano faculty of Florida State University where he began exploring an interest in composition, writing both the libretti and the music for operas with a distinctly American voice. He achieved national recognition with Susanna, which premiered at Florida State University in 1955. Today Carlisle Floyd’s operas are performed throughout America and Europe and Susanna and Of Mice and Men have become standard repertoire. Floyd was one of eight recipients of the National Medal of Arts in 2004. He is also the winner of a Guggenheim Fellowship, the Citation of Merit from the National Association of American Conductors and Composers and the National Opera Institute’s Award for Service to American Opera. In 2008, Floyd was the only composer to be included in the inaugural National Endowment for the Arts Opera Honors.
Librettist: Carlisle Floyd
Premiere Date: March 05, 2016
Description: The opera tells the story of Edward Kynaston, the last of the “boy players” who played women’s roles onstage in Restoration England, following his life from the height of his fame to his downfall after King Charles II’s proclamation
Character List (Major): Edward Kynaston Baritone
Thomas Betterton Bass-baritone
Villars, Duke of Buckingham Tenor
Margaret Hughes Soprano
Lady Meresvale Mezzo-soprano
Miss Frayne Soprano
Sir Charles Hedley Tenor
Charles II Tenor
Nell Gwynn Soprano
Male Emilia Tenor
Female Emilia Mezzo-soprano
Mistress Revels Mezzo-soprano
Ruffians Non-speaking
Length: Length is not available.
Total Acts: 2
Orchestration: The work will be scored for 12 principal singers and a 25-piece orchestra.
Contact: Boosey & Hawkes, Inc.
Address: 229 W 28th St #11, New York, NY 10001
To have your company’s photos included in the header rotation, send photos that are at least 1200px wide and 550px tall to Please note that submission of photos does not guarantee inclusion.
All OPERA America facilities are handicapped accessible. The National Opera Center features ground-level entry with elevators to the venue. All spaces are wheelchair accessible, and modular seating can be arranged to accommodate wheelchair users for all programs and performances. Handicapped accessible restrooms are available on all floors.
330 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Tel: 212.796.8620 • Fax: 212.796.8621

Privacy PolicyReturns Policy
2015 Form 990FY16 Audited Financial Statement
© Copyright 1995-2017 OPERA America Inc.

Technical issue with the website? Let us know.